The Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission will host a free hunter safety course Saturday and Sunday, May 4 and 5 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Except for those who have already successfully completed the online portion of the course, attendance on both days is required for certification. Students who have completed the online course only need to attend the second day (bring the final report).
Students will learn about hunting laws, safe gun handling and hunter ethics/responsibility, among other topics, before taking the final test. The course also includes live-firing instruction on a shooting range.
The class will be held at the Everglades Youth Camp in the J.W. Corbett Wildlife Management Area, 12100 Seminole Pratt Whitney Road. (GPS will not work for this location.)
Participants can sign up at www.myfwc.com/HunterSafety or by calling the FWC’s South Region Office at (561) 625-5122. A link to the online part of the course and a statewide schedule of hunter safety classes are available at www.myfwc.com/HunterSafety.
Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975, must pass an approved hunter safety course before purchasing a Florida hunting license. Parents or legal guardians must accompany children under 16 years of age to all classes. To participate in live-fire exercises, children under 18 years old must present a parental release form.