Wellington Rotary Club Holds Annual Installation

The Wellington Rotary Club held its awards banquet and board of directors installation ceremony Saturday, June 22 at the Wanderers Club. Most members of the club and many members of the community attended.

President Karen Hardin started the program with the Pledge of Allegiance, invocation and the worldwide peace toast. David Unversaw, past club president, gave a year in review of the club’s activities during 2012-13. Unversaw presented many members of the club with recognition awards for their outstanding commitment to the club’s activities during the year.

Carol O’Neil received the Rotarian of the Year award for her outstanding commitment to the club and her service-above-self attitude.

Dr. Carmine Priore presented the Frank T. Gladney award, which is given to a local Wellington citizen who best exemplifies unselfish dedication through devotion of time, energy and numerous contributions to the betterment of the community. The recipient of this year’s award was Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office Chief Deputy Michael Gauger.

Finally, Priore swore in the new board of directors for the 2013-14 year. Tom Neumann was sworn in as president-elect, and Larry Kemp was sworn in as the president. The club looks forward to a successful year.