Palm Beach County Schools Receive ‘Best Of Show’ Awards At SUNSPRA

Palm Beach County public schools recently received two Best of Show awards at the 2013 Sunshine Medallion Awards. The Sunshine State School Public Relations Association (SUNSPRA) celebrates the outstanding work of public-relations professionals through this awards program.

Palm Beach County schools received a Best of Show award for its Wellness Promotion Policy Annual Report (Sixth Edition). This collaborative effort evaluates the progress of district wellness programs. The objective is to establish a workplace which encourages and supports healthy lifestyles. Steve Bonino, chairman of the Palm Beach County Public Schools Wellness Promotion Task Force, accepted the award.

A school-based Best of Show award was given to Okeeheelee Middle School for its entry, “Take Steps to a Healthier You Breakfast Club.” The objective of the program is to improve academic performance with tutoring, done while a free breakfast is served to students. The award was accepted by the school’s Title I Coordinator, Carmen Moreira.

In addition, Palm Beach County School received two other recognitions:

Promotional Videos, Large District — This award was for the Wellness Rewards Premium Discount Promotional Video. The comprehensive video explains the process that district employees have to follow in order to take advantage of the Wellness Rewards Premium Discount Program. The video was produced by Officer Frank Fanelli from the School Police Training Unit and Donna Winter, assistant wellness coordinator as “The Wellness Fairy.”

Special Purpose Publication, Large District — This award was for the Palm Beach County Middle School Poetry Competition. The book includes the winning entries for the 2013 Palm Beach County Middle School Poetry Competition. In addition, the publication features the winning cover designed by Laura Francois and the bookmark designed by Maria Valenti, students at Palm Springs Middle School. Laura Costello, English teacher at Palm Springs Middle School, accepted the award.