Port Of Palm Beach Honors Student Interns

The seven students who are participating in the 2013 Port of Palm Beach summer intern program were recognized by the Port of Palm Beach Board of Commissioners on Tuesday, July 16.

The six-week program allows students from Palm Beach County to gain knowledge about port business and operations while working in a professional setting.

In its second year, the port intern program was open to currently enrolled college sophomores, juniors or seniors with a GPA of 3.0 or greater. The students spent the duration of the program in the department that best fit their fields of studies, such as public relations, business development, accounting, security, records, commission affairs, IT and accounting.

“The intern program allows students to develop professional leadership skills as well as explore career options in their future professions,” Port of Palm Beach Commissioner Edward R. Oppel said.

“Students are grateful these days for opportunities like this,” said Trevor Nelson, who is spending the summer working in the accounting department at the port. “Through the port internship program, the port employees really take the time to develop students in the community.”

The interns in the 2013 program are: Ben Wiles from Boca Raton, who is studying engineering at Florida Atlantic University; Devon Bull from North Palm Beach, a student at Lincoln Culinary Institute; Trevor Nelson from Palm Beach Gardens, who is studying accounting at Auburn University; Jakel Osborne from West Palm Beach, who is studying drama and dance at Spelman College; Arielle Harrell of West Palm Beach, who is studying information technology at Florida A&M University; Devin Powell of West Palm Beach, who is studying business administration at Florida A&M University; and Anya Obradovich-Reeder of West Palm Beach who is studying design at Parsons/The New School of Design.

The internship program is sponsored by the Port of Palm Beach, AECOM, South Florida Materials Corporation, Sunstates Security and Port Contractors.

ABOVE: (Left to right) Commissioner Jean L. Enright, Commissioner Wayne M. Richards, Ben Wiles, Devon Bull, Commissioner Edward R. Oppel, Trevor Nelson, Jakel Osborne, Arielle Harell, Devin Powell and Commissioner Blair J. Ciklin.