St. Clare Cheerleaders Take First Place

The St. Clare Catholic School cheerleaders once again won first place in the Catholic School Athletic League varsity cheerleading competition against seven other diocesan schools.

More than 100 girls competed for the trophy and title at Cardinal Newman High School on Jan. 24. This is the fifth consecutive year that St. Clare has won the competition.

The winning cheerleading team included: Sydney Peters, Nicole Silvester, Eliza Herbst, Allison Nelson, Malia Kanahele, Megan Simpson, Samantha Vacca, Piper Fendrich, Nicole Burgess, Alyssa Malave, Ciara Faircloth, Abby Walsh, Mia Chmilarski, Michaela Chmilarski and Gabby Murray. The team is coached by Angi Bickel and Staci Peters. Cardinal Newman senior Lauren Hagan, a St. Clare graduate, has also been an instrumental leader and coach with the cheerleading squad. She is now a cheerleader at Cardinal Newman.

“We are thrilled that our cheerleaders took home first place again this year,” St. Clare Catholic School Principal Amy Lopez said. “Our athletes and coaches put in the time, effort and energy to succeed, and all of us at St. Clare are very proud of them.”

ABOVE: The St. Clare Catholic School cheerleaders with their first-place trophy at Cardinal Newman High School.