Wellington Rotary Club Announces Peace Ceremony Winners For 2015

The Rotary Club of Wellington recently announced the 2015 winners of its United Nations Rotary Peace Ceremony Contest held throughout the Wellington-area schools.

The club had record participation in its contests for students from elementary school to high school.

The overall winner of the fourth-grade peace poster contest, receiving $75, was Kaitlin Han of Binks Forest Elementary School and her teacher, Lisa Gifford. Individual winners were Amelia Perusse of Elbridge Gale Elementary School and her teacher, Dr. Nicole Crane; Mark Egan of Equestrian Trails Elementary School and his teacher Tamara Tolley; Adriana Gravellese of Panther Run Elementary School and her teacher, Christine Salehi; and Sophia Hernandez of New Horizons Elementary School and her teacher, Robin Mau. Each individual student winner will be awarded $50 at next September’s peace ceremony. The teachers will receive $50 for classroom supplies. Rotary members Don Gross, Tiffany Rodriguez and Debi Yohn coordinated the competition.

Winners in the middle school poetry competition were Jason Benhardus of Polo Park Middle School and his teacher, Sandra Hruska, and Sydney Nguyen of Emerald Cove Middle School and her teacher, Amy Yuzenas. Each student won $75 and teachers won $50 for classroom supplies. Rotary member Susan O’Dell coordinated the competition.

The high school essay competition winners were Jared Gott of Palm Beach Central High School and his teacher, Stephanie Baker, and Emily McClimans of Wellington High School and her teacher, Flora Rigolo. Both students will receive $100, and teachers will receive $50 for classroom use. Tom Carreras coordinated the contest.

All students will receive their awards at the peace ceremony on Sunday, Sept. 20 at the Wellington Rotary Peace Park on Royal Fern Drive near the Wellington library. All families and friends of the contest winners are encouraged to attend. Peace Initiative Chairman Larry Kemp coordinated all of the events.

ABOVE: Members of the Peace Contests Committee (L-R) Tom Carreras, Debi Yohn, Tiffany Rodriguez, Herta Suess, Don Gross, Susan O’Dell and Chairman Larry Kemp.