Wellington Landings Forms Drama Troupe

WLMS celebrates its eighth-grade actresses at a ceremony on May 25.

Wellington Landings Middle School has its first official drama troupe. The school petitioned the International Thespian Society, the student honorary division of the Educational Theatre Association, for the privilege of chartering a Junior Thespian Troupe. The theatre arts program of Wellington Landings has met the standards required by the board of directors of the Educational Theatre Association, and the application has been accepted as Troupe 88413.

On May 25, a ceremony was held to accept the charter, induct the 38 new members, and hold a moving-on celebration for eighth graders who are transitioning to high school. The charter was accepted by Principal Blake Bennett and Theater Director Karen Epstein. Officer election results were also announced, and the following students will represent Troupe 88143 as its first officers: President B. Jade Hundley, Vice President Taylor Hobbs, Secretary Samantha Aragones, Publicity Chair Austin Bailly, Fundraising Chair Faustina Duvigneaud, Scribe/Editor Emma Franks and Community Service Chair MacKenzie Hobbs.

Membership in the International Thespian Society signifies a commitment to excellence both on and off the stage. Members must accept praise and criticism with grace and work hard for the good of the troupe.