EPA Appoints McKinlay To Local Government Advisory Committee

Melissa McKinlay

On Wednesday, Aug. 25, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Michael S. Regan announced the appointment of 34 new members to the Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC).

The 39-member LGAC will include 20 women, 16 people of color and representation from 30 different states, tribal nations and U.S. territories, representing a diverse cross-section of cities, counties, towns and communities across the United States.

The administrator also appointed 16 new members to the LGAC’s Small Communities Advisory Subcommittee. Among the new appointees is Palm Beach County Commissioner Melissa McKinlay.

“It is an honor to be called upon by the Biden/Harris Administration to serve on the Environmental Protection Agency’s Local Government Advisory Committee,” McKinlay said. “Including the voices of those of us serving at the grassroots level to advise on environmental issues across our nation shows the president’s commitment to a strong local/federal partnership. I’m excited to be on the team.”

EPA received more than 150 nominations following a solicitation in March 2021. Both groups plan to hold their first meeting this fall.

“I’m honored to welcome this diverse, highly qualified group of local leaders, who will bring valuable insight and experience to the agency,” Regan said. “The EPA is counting on their input and collaboration to help achieve our mission to protect public health and the environment in every zip code. From tackling climate change to advancing environmental justice, we need local partners at the table to address our most pressing environmental challenges.”

Chartered in 1993 under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Local Government Advisory Committee provides independent policy advice to the EPA administrator on a broad range of issues affecting local governments. The Small Community Advisory Subcommittee was established by EPA in 1996 to advise the administrator on environmental issues of concern to the residents of smaller communities.