South Florida Fair Names New Officers And Hall Of Fame Members

New board members Bill Johnson, Todd Bonlarron and Jessica Clasby.

The South Florida Fair recently held its annual meeting and announced a new slate of officers. Former Palm Beach County Administrator Bob Weisman has been named the new chairman.

Joining Weisman are Vice Chair Becky Isiminger, Treasurer Theresa LePore, Secretary Paul Allen, Immediate Past Chair Dennis Grady, President & CEO Victoria Chouris and General Counsel/Assistant Secretary Lance Fuchs. Three new directors also were named: Jessica Clasby, senior director of public relations for the Florida Sugar Cane League; Todd Bonlarron, assistant county administrator; and Bill Johnson, retired director of Palm Beach County Emergency Management.

Glenn Jergensen, who has served as the executive director of the Tourist Development Council for eight years, was named a trustee. Patrick Franklin, president and CEO of the Urban League of Palm Beach County, and Robert Shorr of Accurate Farms and the mayor of Loxahatchee Groves, were also named as trustees.

During the meeting, the fair announced its new inductees into the South Florida Fair Hall of Fame, which was established in 2004 as a means of honoring those who have greatly contributed to the success of the nonprofit organization.

Rick Vymlatil, a former employee since the early 1980s and president and CEO of the South Florida Fair from 2004 to 2019, was named in the Leadership category. During his tenure with the fair, he demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities and provided strategic direction.

Life trustee Annis Manning Franklin was inducted in the Leadership category. Her commitment, involvement and general passion for the South Florida Fair began long before becoming a member of the board of directors. Many aspects of the fair, including vendor relations, have improved because of her involvement.

The Fair’s Hall of Fame Committee also instituted an honored volunteer award to individuals who have volunteered a minimum of 10 years and go above and beyond during the course of the year, especially at fair time. Volunteers Bernadette Caccetta and Terry Schultz were both honored. Additional volunteers who were recognized were Cheyenne Tavares, who was given an agriculture award; Donna Blackwelll received a guest services award; and a Yesteryear Village award went to Brenda Kilgore.