Equestrian Legends Event Benefits Buoniconti Fund

Reed Mack and Marc Buoniconti.

Actor Tommy Lee Jones and decorated polo player Dawn Jones served as honorary chairs and were joined by the evening’s honorees polo legend Nacho Figueras and Argentine businesswoman and equestrian Delfina Blaquier for the second annual Equestrian Legends Celebrity Polo Match & Gala to benefit the Buoniconti Fund to Cure Paralysis on Saturday, Jan. 27.

Hundreds of philanthropic partygoers celebrated at the National Polo Center in Wellington while witnessing a thrilling polo match and a phenomenal equestrian exhibition from Olympic and World Champion riders in the disciplines of show jumping and dressage.

Event chair and Outback Steakhouse founder Tim Gannon welcomed patrons along with Buoniconti Fund President Marc Buoniconti, who inspired the audience with his story of determination and perseverance. After a seated dinner with wine and champagne pairings by Penfolds, hands flew in the air to bid during the live auction as coveted VIP tickets to a Taylor Swift concert in Paris were on the block.

Stephanie Sayfie Aagaard, executive director of the Miami Project, presented the Buoniconti Fund Award to the first couple of polo, Nacho Figueras and Delfina Blaquier, for their decades-long devotion and fundraising efforts. Figueras delivered a moving and poignant speech about their passion for helping others and pledged his continued support for the Buoniconti Fund and the Miami Project. Dr. Barth Green, co-founder of the Miami Project, and Mark Dalton, longtime Buoniconti Fund board member and Great Sports Legends Dinner chair, received a special recognition during the evening, which culminated with dancing on the polo terrace.

Special thanks to the evening’s Platinum Sponsors Mark Dalton, Tim Gannon, Diana Morrison and Itchko Ezratti, Victoria Ranger Nunez and Mike Nunez, Mack V/Lynn and Reed Mack, Concord Equity Group/Dana Barnes, Jeffrey and Melinda Hildebrand, and Penfolds. Gold Sponsors were Bainbridge/Richard Schechter and the Arlene F. Page & J. David Page Charitable Foundation/David and Tuny Page. Special thanks to event co-chairs Stephanie Sayfie Aagaard, Louise and Red Armour, Marc Buoniconti, Teresa Buoniconti, Mark Dalton, Shannon Falcone, Tim Gannon, Richard Gray, Dr. Barth Green, Dawn and Tommy Lee Jones, Reed Mack, Diana Morrison, Victoria Ranger Nunez and Suzie Sayfie.

For more information, contact Stephanie Sayfie Aagaard at (305) 243-6385 or ssayfieaagaard@miami.edu. Learn more at www.themiamiproject.org.