AHS Honors Presidential Scholar Candidates

American Heritage Schools’ Presidential Scholars award nominees.

American Heritage Schools, the top-ranked Private K-12 School in Florida according to Niche, recently announced that 15 students from the Class of 2024 (eight from the Broward campus and seven from the Palm Beach campus) have been nominated for the Presidential Scholars award. The U.S. Presidential Scholars program is the nation’s most prestigious recognition for distinguished graduating high school seniors.

The two campuses of American Heritage Schools account for 12 percent of all Presidential Scholar candidates in Florida. The Broward campus is the No. 1 school in Florida with the highest number of Presidential Scholar candidates. The Palm Beach Campus is the No. 2 school in Florida with the highest number of Presidential Scholar candidates.

“Being a presidential scholar is an extraordinary academic achievement, and we are immensely proud of our students who have earned this prestigious honor,” said Dr. Doug Laurie, president of American Heritage Schools. “It reflects their dedication, intellect and commitment to excellence, and serves as a testament to their hard work and determination.”

The United States Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating high school seniors. In 1979, the program was extended to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, creative and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

Approximately 500 students will be named semifinalists. In April, the Commission on Presidential Scholars will review the applications and select 161 outstanding students to receive the nation’s highest scholastic honor. Students are selected based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

The students from the American Heritage Palm Beach campus who have been named candidates include: Drake Austin of Boca Raton, Jesse Brodtman of Wellington, Daniel Crum of Boca Raton, Bradley Frishman of Boca Raton, Isidoro Lapidot of Royal Palm Beach, Rayan Rahmani of Boca Raton and Ryan Rao of Boca Raton.

Broward students who earned the honor include: Ethan Brady, Yana Danzig, Cayden Forman, Ellaheh Gohari, Taeyoung Kim, Rithvik Marri, Kaushal Vedula and Aaron Zhang.

U.S. Presidential Scholars are honored for their accomplishments during the National Recognition Program in Washington, D.C., each June.