Seminole Ridge TV Production Academy Earns Awards At FSPA

Congratulations to the Seminole Ridge High School TV Production Academy students who competed and earned honors April 13-14 at the Florida Scholastic Press Association state convention in Orlando.

This annual FSPA event features more than 1,300 students representing the best journalism programs in the state. Convention winners for 2018 included:

First place: Evan Eisenstark, in the Collaborative Commercial competition. Honorable mention: Anthony Bowie, Christina Gonzalez, Craig Inscoe and Shannon O’Sullivan in the Man on the Street competition; Jadelyn Bruce, Ana Fontecchio and Caitlin Simpson in the Press Conference Coverage competition; Megan Froehlich in the Snapchat Coverage competition; and Carly Swanson, Evan Upson and Kayla Wright in the News Package competition.

Boys Track Repeats as Champs — Coached by Brian Pollick, the SRHS boys track team repeated as district champions April 17, winning their third title in the past four years and qualifying 16 teams to advance to regional competition. Zachary Kameka was a double champion, winning the long jump and the triple jump. In addition, the 4×800 relay team of Kyle Hare, Kody Phelps, Nico Pieroni and Matthew Zimmerman earned the gold for their event.

Third Annual College Fair a Success — Hosted by the school counseling departments of Seminole Ridge, Wellington, Palm Beach Central and Royal Palm Beach high schools, the third annual spring college fair was held April 19 at RPBHS.

Parents and students from all grade levels took the opportunity to meet with numerous college and university representatives and with community-based educational agencies. Herff Jones representatives were also available for graduation needs, and Score at the Top hosted a presentation about college admission.

The event saw a wonderful turnout, with more than 60 SRHS families in attendance. SRHS school counselor Dr. Melissa Garcia said, “I’m so thrilled to once again collaborate with local high schools to provide our families with the chance to get an early start with the college admission process.”

Students of the Week — The Students of the Week program recognizes Hawks, nominated by staff, for their academic excellence, behavior and assistance with campus events. Congratulations to the Students of the Week for April 16-20: Yosbany Gonzalez (grade 9), Raul Valiente (grade 10), Shane Laurent (grade 11) and Jaquelinne Salazar (grade 12), and for April 23-27: Cloe Weber (grade 9), William Campbell (grade 10), Nelson Sutton (grade 11) and Daniela Acosta Alvarez (grade 12).