Wellington Garden Club Installs New Officers And Presents Awards

Officers Kristi Westrup, Marianne Forrest, Danese Sloan-Kendall, Carol Coleman (representing Cynthia Gardner), Jan Seagrave, Petra Russell and Carol Ralph.

The Wellington Garden Club installed new officers at its spring luncheon held at Wellington National Golf Club on Monday, May 1.

The officers were installed by former FFGC District X Director Emilie Palmieri of the Boca Raton Garden Club. The new officers are: President Carol Ralph, First Vice President Petra Russell, Second Vice President Kristi Westrup, Treasurer Danese Sloan-Kendall, Assistant Treasurer Marianne Forrest, Recording Secretary Cynthia Gardner and Corresponding Secretary Jan Seagrave.

Also at the luncheon, awards from the Florida Federation of Garden Clubs (FFGC) were announced by Awards Chair Twig Morris. They included awards for the club’s newsletter, the Allamanda News, the 2022-23 yearbook, the community gardens at Wellington’s Boys & Girls Club, the 2022 Garden Tour and a certificate for 751 trees planted. The following individual awards were also announced: Leadership Award to Maria Wolfe, Digital Photography to Paige Griffin, Flower Show Bromeliad Award to Christine Biscoglio and Flower Show Educational Award to Twig Morris.

In addition, FFGC Earth Steward Chair Kathy Siena presented the Earth Steward Recognition Certificate and pin to John Siena for his many years of work with the Boys & Girls Club Community Garden. Also on the agenda, John Siena presented college scholarships to area students who are pursuing careers in horticulture, botany, environmental science and related fields. This year’s scholarship winners are Samantha Anthony, Sabrina Jacques, Shovik Saha, Logan Shishkowsky and Peter Sumell.

Learn more about the club at www.wellingtongardenclub.org.