SRHS Alumni Share Their College Experiences

Seminole Ridge High School recently hosted a “Hawk Alumni Panel” for current Seminole Ridge seniors, in which eight former Hawks shared their thoughts on college and on life after high school.

The alumni panel idea came from Brianna Lozito, a graduate of the Class of 2009, who told the guidance department that “so many freshman college students don’t know what to expect when they transition from high school to college.”

“Many seniors found the event helpful and appreciated the alumni sharing their college experiences,” guidance coordinator Sandy Baldwin said.

In other Seminole Ridge news:

• The SRHS Spanish Honor Society recognizes student achievements in Spanish language and promotes interest in Spanish language and culture.

In addition to welcoming honorary faculty members Jonathan Kaplan and Dr. Eric Schoenfeld, the society inducted 33 students Jan. 24 at an evening ceremony in the Dr. Lynne K. McGee Auditorium.

The inductees are as follows: Jennifer Almazan, Brady Alter, Sara Blair, Olivia Byrd, Cindy Cabrera, Kimberly Cannizzaro, Pricilla Cerqueira, Jessica Cody, Brooke Collier, Emily Cress, Brianna Day, Emily Greenall, Molly Hietapelto, Erica Hylton, Anthony Juncal, Tyler Kingree, Christian Labossiere, Taylor Lamoureux, Richie Laurent, Danielle Livingstone, Parth Patel, Carolina Pereira, Brandon Phan, Leena Rosario, Camilo Salazar, Sidney Shivers, Samuel Smith, Mikayla Thomas, Sashia Thompson, Kristen Tolbert, Katelyn Wiley, Rachel Wolfkill and Courtney Worthington.

• The SRHS French Honor Society inducted new members in an evening ceremony Feb. 28. Shawna Amhad, Robert Frick and Barbara Nicho were welcomed as honorary faculty members, along with the following 14 student inductees: Sarah Al-Buhaisi, Benoit Cloutier, Shanira Delgado, Patrick Dickson, Shaina Gallagher, Corey Hampson, Gabriela Hechavarria, Fallon McCoy, Alexis Parada, Leda Paul, Indra Ramirez, Jaclissa Reyes, Mikaela Samuel and Jessica Terkovich.

— Courtney Muscarella contributed to this story


Above: Aisha Jabouin, Bethune Cookman College; Aryele Nicoleau, Palm Beach State College; Christina Dearth, University of Central Florida; Herman Castro, University of Florida; Brianna Lozito, University of Florida; Katelyn Woodbury, University of Miami; Marqueshia Stallworth, University of South Florida; and Tommy Cox, University of North Florida.